From The Office of  West Virginia Secretary of State Mac Warner

From The Office of

West Virginia Secretary of State Mac Warner

Student Leaders Recognized for Voter Registration Efforts; Warner announces 2019-2020 Honorary Secretary of State award-winners

Charleston, W. Va.  Following last week's announcement of the 2019-2020 Jennings Randolph Award-winning schools, today, Secretary of State Mac Warner announced the list of students recognized as Honorary Secretaries of State.

There are three students from Jackson County recognized as Honorary Secretaries of State.The recipients are Levi French from Ravenswood High School and Trey Jones and Garrison Phillips from Ripley High School.

The Honorary Secretary of State program recognizes high school students who are committed to registering, informing, and mobilizing their peers to vote. Honorees are from Jennings Randolph Award-winning schools and are nominated by their teachers for their efforts.

Honorees are invited to spend time at the West Virginia State Capitol, learning about the duties of the Secretary of State's Office and the functions of the State Legislature. Many 2019-2020 Honorary Secretaries of State were able to participate in the 2020 Legislative Session.

"These students are leaders in their schools and future leaders in their communities," Warner said. "Their commitment to voter engagement is a reflection of their interest in the electoral process and the betterment of our state."

Now in its 26th year, the Jennings Randolph Award program is an effort by the Secretary of State’s office working with county clerks to encourage students to discuss the importance of civic engagement and to register to vote. The Award is named for the late U.S. Senator Jennings Randolph, a West Virginia native, who sponsored the 26th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which reduced the voting age from 21 to 18.

More than 40 high schools participated in the Jennings Randolph Award program during the 2019-2020 school year. Up to two students from each award-winning school may be recognized as Honorary Secretaries of State.

 Since taking office in January of 2017, Secretary Warner has led the effort to register more than 62,000 high school students to vote.

  Schools interested in the Jennings Randolph Award or Honorary Secretary of State program should visit our website for more information.